The 6% Interest Rate Cap
Upgrade SCRA: No Rate in Print, No SCRA Desk, How to File Anyway
Part of: The Complete Guide to the SCRA
What Upgrade owes you
The cap is retroactive to your first day of active duty, and the excess interest is forgiven rather than deferred. Put your numbers in to see the size of your claim, then generate the letter that asks for it.
Simple-interest estimate on a fixed balance, capped at 6%: the 6% statutory ceiling (50 U.S.C. § 3937). Upgrade publishes no lower rate, so 6% is your guaranteed floor. A revolving balance that moved over the period will differ. It sizes the claim; it is not an amortization schedule and not legal advice.
Open the full calculator with these numbers | Generate the letter to Upgrade
Write the letter to Upgrade
Written notice is what starts the clock. Fill these in and the letter below is yours to copy, print, and send with a copy of your orders.
Where to send it: Upload documents and chat in the Account Dashboard Upgrade states it takes Not stated.
Nothing you type here leaves your browser. The letter is built on this device.
Upgrade answers the military question in two short help-center articles, and neither gives you a number. They say loans obtained through Upgrade, and retail installment sale contracts assigned to Upgrade, “comply with the Servicemember Civil Relief Act (SCRA),” that the benefits “include an interest rate reduction for active-duty military servicemembers,” and that the loan “must be obtained prior to the active-duty start date.” Upgrade “may request documentation.” That is the whole published program, read November 2, 2026. There is no SCRA email, no form, no stated timeline, and no deadline.
The missing number is not a problem, because the law supplies it. A debt you took on before service that carries more than 6% “shall not bear interest at a rate in excess of 6 percent” during military service, and the interest above 6% is forgiven (50 U.S.C. § 3937(a)). The work on your side is getting a written request in front of Upgrade through a channel that leaves a record.
What the cap is worth on an Upgrade loan
Upgrade’s personal-loan page lists APRs of 7.74% to 35.99%, an origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99% taken out of the proceeds, and terms of 24 to 84 months. Its own worked example is a $10,000, 36-month loan at a 17.59% APR, made up of a 13.94% yearly interest rate and a 5% origination fee, with a $341.48 monthly payment.
On that example, the interest rate is the part the cap cuts. At 13.94%, a $10,000 balance costs about $1,394 a year in interest; at 6% it costs $600. That is roughly $790 a year forgiven (an illustration that holds the balance flat; yours falls as you pay). A borrower at the top of Upgrade’s range saves far more. The statute also requires the monthly payment to drop by the forgiven interest (§ 3937(a)(3)), so the relief shows up in each payment, not as a credit years later. Run your own numbers in the savings calculator.
Upgrade’s page does not say whether it treats any part of the origination fee as interest for SCRA purposes. The statute counts “fees, or any other charges” as interest (§ 3937(d)(1)), but that fee was deducted at funding, before your service began. Do not count on getting it back.
What Upgrade publishes, line by line
| Item | Statutory SCRA | Upgrade help center (read Nov 2, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Rate on pre-service debt | 6% ceiling, excess forgiven | ”An interest rate reduction” (no figure) |
| Which accounts | Debt incurred before service | Loans through Upgrade and installment contracts assigned to it, obtained before the active-duty start date |
| Proof | Written notice plus orders or another indicator | ”We may request documentation” |
| SCRA channel | Not set by statute | None. General servicing email, phone, chat, upload, mail |
| Deadline | 180 days after release | Not stated |
| Response time | Not set by statute | Not stated |
| Veterans | Cap ends with service | ”Do not currently offer benefits for Veterans” |
Upgrade describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank,” and says its loans and cards are provided by its bank partners. You still file with Upgrade, which services the account.
Filing with Upgrade when there is no SCRA desk
Put an SCRA request on record with Upgrade
- Confirm the Upgrade loan, Upgrade Card, or assigned installment contract was opened before your active-duty start date. Upgrade says this is required, and so does § 3937.
- Get your orders showing the start date, or a commanding officer letter on letterhead. A DMDC status certificate is a useful second attachment.
- Write a request that names every Upgrade account and asks for the 6% cap from the start date, citing 50 U.S.C. § 3937. The letter generator drafts it.
- Upload the letter and orders in your Upgrade Account Dashboard, and email the same packet to servicing@upgrade.com. Upgrade lists (844) 899-9931 for account questions, Monday to Friday 5 a.m. to 7 p.m. PT and weekends 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. PT.
- Ask for the applied rate and its effective date in writing, because Upgrade publishes neither.
- If nothing changes on the next statement, write to complaint@upgrade.com, the complaints address on Upgrade’s contact page, with the first request attached.
Auto contracts assigned to Upgrade
Upgrade names “Retail Installment Sale Contracts assigned to Upgrade” alongside its loans, and its contact page lists Auto Finance among the accounts it services. If your car contract is one of them and you paid a deposit or installment before entering service, the SCRA does more than cap the rate. Under § 3952(a), the contract may not be rescinded or terminated for a breach, and the vehicle may not be repossessed, without a court order. Upgrade’s help center does not mention this protection; the statute does not need it to. The repossession guide explains what to do if a repo agent shows up anyway.
Where Upgrade borrowers lose the cap
Calling the MLA hotline instead of filing. Upgrade prints a Military Lending Act hotline, (855) 511-7676, on both military articles. The MLA covers credit opened while you are on active duty and caps its cost at a 36% APR (10 U.S.C. § 987(b)). It does nothing for a loan you took out before service. The MLA versus SCRA guide sorts out which law reaches which debt.
Waiting until after separation. Upgrade states no deadline, but the statute does: written notice no later than 180 days after release (§ 3937(b)(1)). Inside that window the cap reaches back to the day you were called up. Upgrade’s veterans article says there is no separate veterans benefit, so day 181 is the end.
Treating a phone call as notice. The statute asks for written notice. A chat transcript or a call note may never reach the team that changes the rate. Upload and email, then keep both.
Compare Upgrade with online lenders that do publish a dedicated route, such as Avant and Upstart, or browse the lender directory.
The law behind this: 50 U.S.C. § 3937
Maximum rate of interest on debts incurred before military service: read the statute , or read § 3937 in plain English, with its enforcement record .
Do the next thing
- Estimate the refund you are owed Months above 6% on a pre-service balance, as money.
- Generate the rate-cap letter Cites § 3937, asks for every pre-service account.
- What servicemembers report about your lender 349 companies, money-back rates, from the CFPB.
- Compare 22 banks on the scorecard Fees, early pay and SCRA rate, from their own pages.
Frequently asked questions
Does Upgrade offer SCRA benefits?
Yes. Upgrade's help center article on active-duty servicemembers, read November 2, 2026, says loans obtained through Upgrade and retail installment sale contracts assigned to Upgrade comply with the SCRA, and that the benefits include an interest rate reduction. To qualify, the loan must have been obtained before your active-duty start date, and Upgrade says it may ask for documentation. It does not print the rate; 50 U.S.C. § 3937 sets it at 6%.
What interest rate does Upgrade apply for the SCRA?
Upgrade does not publish a number. Its article says only "an interest rate reduction." The statute fills the gap: a pre-service debt above 6% cannot bear more than 6% a year during military service, the interest above 6% is forgiven, and the monthly payment must drop by the forgiven amount. Ask Upgrade to confirm the applied rate in writing.
Where do I send an SCRA request to Upgrade?
Upgrade publishes no SCRA-specific address. Its contact page lists, for existing personal loan, Upgrade Card, home improvement, and auto finance accounts, servicing@upgrade.com, phone (844) 899-9931, chat inside the Account Dashboard, document upload to the dashboard, and customer mail to Upgrade Inc., 2 North Central Ave., Floor 10, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (read November 2, 2026). Email or upload a written request with your orders so the notice date is on record.
Do veterans get any benefit from Upgrade?
No. Upgrade's help center states that loans obtained through Upgrade do not currently offer benefits for veterans (read November 2, 2026). The SCRA cap runs only during military service, but a veteran who served while carrying a pre-service Upgrade loan can still ask for the cap back to the service start date if the request arrives within 180 days after release, under 50 U.S.C. § 3937(b)(1).
What is the Upgrade MLA hotline for?
Upgrade lists (855) 511-7676 as its Military Lending Act hotline. The MLA covers credit opened while you are on active duty and caps its cost at a 36% annual percentage rate under 10 U.S.C. § 987(b). It is a different law from the SCRA, which covers debt from before service. Calling the MLA line is not an SCRA request.
Tools for this topic
- SCRA refund calculator What a lender owes back for charging over 6%.
- Savings calculator What the 6% cap saves you per month and per year.
- Letter generator A rate-cap or lease letter that cites the statute.
Sources
- Does Upgrade offer discounts for Active Duty Military servicemembers? (Upgrade Help Center)
- Does Upgrade offer benefits for Veterans? (Upgrade Help Center)
- How can I contact Upgrade? (Upgrade Help Center)
- Personal Loans (Upgrade)
-
50 U.S.C. § 3937: Maximum rate of interest on debts incurred before military service (LII, Cornell Law School) -
50 U.S.C. § 3952: Protection under installment contracts for purchase or lease (LII, Cornell Law School) -
10 U.S.C. § 987: Terms of consumer credit extended to members and dependents (LII, Cornell Law School)
Heads up: SCRA Saver publishes general information, not legal or financial advice. Laws change and every situation differs. Confirm details with your installation legal assistance office (free for service members) or a licensed professional.