The 6% Interest Rate Cap
Avant SCRA: Email scra@avant.com, 6% Cap, No Late or NSF Fees
Part of: The Complete Guide to the SCRA
What Avant owes you
The cap is retroactive to your first day of active duty, and the excess interest is forgiven rather than deferred. Put your numbers in to see the size of your claim, then generate the letter that asks for it.
Simple-interest estimate on a fixed balance, capped at 6%: the 6% statutory ceiling (50 U.S.C. § 3937). Avant publishes no lower rate, so 6% is your guaranteed floor. A revolving balance that moved over the period will differ. It sizes the claim; it is not an amortization schedule and not legal advice.
Open the full calculator with these numbers | Generate the letter to Avant
Write the letter to Avant
Written notice is what starts the clock. Fill these in and the letter below is yours to copy, print, and send with a copy of your orders.
Where to send it: scra@avant.com Avant states it takes Not stated ("one of our specialists will assist you").
Nothing you type here leaves your browser. The letter is built on this device.
Avant runs a published SCRA program for its personal loans and the AvantCard, and its help center states it in one line: eligible customers get “an interest rate of no more than 6% on all eligible loans and credit products.” You ask by email, at scra@avant.com. Avant adds two things on top of the rate: the cut lowers your monthly installment payment, and you are not charged late fees or non-sufficient funds fees during active service. The help center articles were read November 2, 2026, and carry a last-updated date of January 27, 2026.
The money is real because Avant lends at the high end. Its personal-loan page lists APRs of 9.95% to 35.99% with an administration fee of up to 9.99%, and its home page gives the AvantCard a 35.99% APR for applications made on its website. Carry $2,000 on that card from before active duty and you pay about $720 a year in interest. At 6% the same balance costs about $120, so roughly $600 a year stays with you, and the statute forgives that money rather than deferring it (§ 3937(a)(2)). Put your own balance into the savings calculator.
Avant is the servicer and brand; its site states that Avant branded credit products are issued by WebBank. You still file with Avant.
What Avant puts in writing
| Item | Statutory SCRA | Avant help center (read Nov 2, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Rate on pre-service debt | 6% ceiling, excess forgiven | ”No more than 6%” on all eligible loans and credit products |
| Monthly payment | Must drop by the forgiven interest | Reduction “will lower your monthly obligation” on installment loans |
| Fees | Count as interest under § 3937(d)(1) | Late fees and NSF fees not charged during active service |
| How to ask | Written notice plus orders or another indicator | Email scra@avant.com with one listed document |
| Deadline | 180 days after release | Start within 180 days of completing or leaving active duty |
| Response time | Not set by statute | Not stated |
Avant’s fee line is narrower than the statute’s. The law defines interest to include “service charges, renewal charges, fees, or any other charges (except bona fide insurance).” Avant names late and NSF fees. It says nothing about the AvantCard’s annual membership fee, which its site prices at $0 to $75 for website applications. If your card carries one and the account predates your service, ask Avant in your email to count the annual fee inside the 6% ceiling, and get the answer in writing. The late fees guide covers how fees fold into the cap.
The documents Avant accepts, and the ones it turns away
Avant’s apply article is more specific than most lenders’ pages about proof. It asks for one or more of:
- your enlistment orders or the military orders calling you to active duty
- a completed Department of Defense short form, which Avant says is available from your local JAG or housing office
- a letter on official letterhead from your commanding officer, with contact information for confirmation, your full name, and your Social Security number or date of birth
It then says that since the August 13, 2018 amendment to the SCRA it also accepts a DD Form 214, a DD Form 215, a VA benefits award letter, or a military disability award letter. That tracks the statute, which accepts orders or “any other appropriate indicator of military service, including a certified letter from a commanding officer” (§ 3937(b)(1)(A)).
Avant also publishes a reject list, and it is the part people trip on. It will not accept a federal veterans ID card, a military ID, a sponsor ID, a state driver’s license or ID with a veteran or military designation, a .mil email address, access to an FPO, APO, or DPO mailbox, or a photo of you in uniform. A CAC card proves you serve today. It does not prove when service started, and the start date is what decides whether your Avant debt is pre-service. Send orders.
Filing with Avant
Send Avant your SCRA request
- Confirm the Avant loan or AvantCard was opened before your active-duty start date. Debt opened during service gets no SCRA cap; the eligibility checker walks the test.
- Pull one accepted document: orders with your start date, a commanding officer letter on letterhead with your SSN or date of birth, or a DD 214, DD 215, or VA award letter if you have already separated. Not a military ID.
- Write a short request that names each Avant account and asks for the 6% cap from your active-duty start date. The letter generator drafts one that cites § 3937.
- Email the request and document to scra@avant.com. Keep the sent email; it is your proof of the notice date.
- Avant states no response time. If a statement cycle passes with no reply, email again with the original attached.
- On the next statement, check that the rate reads 6% or less, the installment payment dropped, and no late or NSF fee posted during service.
Who Avant says qualifies, and one branch its list leaves out
Avant’s eligibility article lists active duty in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, or Coast Guard, reservists serving on active duty, commissioned officers of NOAA and the Public Health Service on active service, and servicemembers absent from duty for sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause. The list does not name the Space Force. The statute does: § 3911(2)(A) defines military service for “a member of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Space Force, or Coast Guard.” A Guardian with a pre-service Avant account is covered by the law whatever the help article says, so file the same way and cite § 3911 if anyone questions it.
Guard members should read the statute’s narrower rule: Guard duty counts when it is a call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days under 32 U.S.C. 502(f) to respond to a declared national emergency, or federal active duty. The Guard and Reserve guide explains which orders qualify.
Where Avant borrowers lose money
Waiting until after separation and missing the window. Avant’s own deadline is 180 days after you leave active duty. A request inside that window still reaches back to the day you were called up (§ 3937(b)(2)), so the overcharge for the whole tour is recoverable. A request on day 181 gets nothing. The refund guide covers clawing back past interest.
Confusing a hardship plan with the SCRA. Avant’s hardship article sends you to a payment-plan line, 1-844-411-6053. A payment plan is a favor Avant can change. The 6% cap is a right. Avant also says being on a payment plan does not affect SCRA eligibility, so ask for both.
Opening new credit during service and expecting the cap. A new Avant loan or card opened on active duty is outside § 3937 and falls under the Military Lending Act instead, with its 36% ceiling. Compare Avant’s process with other online lenders such as Upstart and OneMain, or the full lender directory.
The law behind this: 50 U.S.C. § 3937
Maximum rate of interest on debts incurred before military service: read the statute , or read § 3937 in plain English, with its enforcement record .
Do the next thing
- Estimate the refund you are owed Months above 6% on a pre-service balance, as money.
- Generate the rate-cap letter Cites § 3937, asks for every pre-service account.
- What servicemembers report about your lender 349 companies, money-back rates, from the CFPB.
- Compare 22 banks on the scorecard Fees, early pay and SCRA rate, from their own pages.
Frequently asked questions
Does Avant give SCRA benefits?
Yes. Avant's help center article on SCRA benefits, read November 2, 2026, says eligible customers get an interest rate of no more than 6% on all eligible loans and credit products, a reduced monthly payment on installment loans, and no late fees or non-sufficient funds fees during active service where the credit agreement would otherwise charge them. The cap reaches debt taken on before active duty, which is what 50 U.S.C. § 3937 covers.
How do I apply for SCRA benefits with Avant?
Email scra@avant.com. Avant says one of its specialists will help you and asks for at least one document: your orders calling you to active duty, a completed Department of Defense short form from your JAG or housing office, or a commanding officer letter on official letterhead with contact information, your full name, and your Social Security number or date of birth. Avant also accepts a DD Form 214, DD Form 215, VA benefits award letter, or military disability award letter.
What does Avant not accept as proof of military service?
Avant lists documents it does not treat as an appropriate indicator of military service: a federal veterans ID card, military ID, sponsor ID, a state driver's license or ID with a veteran or military designation, an email address ending in .mil, access to an FPO, APO, or DPO mailbox, a picture of you in uniform, and any document that has been altered. Send orders or a commanding officer letter instead (read November 2, 2026).
How long do I have to request SCRA benefits from Avant?
Avant says requests must be initiated within 180 days of the date you complete or leave active duty. That matches 50 U.S.C. § 3937(b)(1)(A), which gives you until 180 days after release from military service to give the creditor written notice. Once Avant has your notice and documents, the statute applies the cap from the date you were called to service, not the date you wrote.
Can I get Avant SCRA benefits if I am on a payment plan?
Yes. Avant's help center states that payment plans do not affect eligibility for its SCRA program, and gives the same email, scra@avant.com, to apply. If money is tight during service even after the rate drops, Avant's hardship article directs you to call 1-844-411-6053 to ask about payment plans (read November 2, 2026).
Tools for this topic
- SCRA refund calculator What a lender owes back for charging over 6%.
- Savings calculator What the 6% cap saves you per month and per year.
- Letter generator A rate-cap or lease letter that cites the statute.
Sources
- What SCRA benefits does Avant provide? (Avant Support)
- How do I apply for SCRA benefits? (Avant Support)
- Who is eligible under Avant's SCRA program? (Avant Support)
- How long do I have to apply for SCRA benefits? (Avant Support)
- I'm on a Payment Plan. Am I still eligible to receive SCRA benefits? (Avant Support)
- What if I experience a hardship while I'm eligible for SCRA benefits? (Avant Support)
- Personal Loans: rates and terms (Avant)
-
50 U.S.C. § 3937: Maximum rate of interest on debts incurred before military service (LII, Cornell Law School) -
50 U.S.C. § 3911: Definitions (LII, Cornell Law School)
Heads up: SCRA Saver publishes general information, not legal or financial advice. Laws change and every situation differs. Confirm details with your installation legal assistance office (free for service members) or a licensed professional.