The 6% Interest Rate Cap
CashNetUSA and NetCredit SCRA: 6% on Pre-Service Debt, Who to Email
Part of: The Complete Guide to the SCRA
What CashNetUSA and NetCredit (Enova) owes you
The cap is retroactive to your first day of active duty, and the excess interest is forgiven rather than deferred. Put your numbers in to see the size of your claim, then generate the letter that asks for it.
Simple-interest estimate on a fixed balance, capped at 6%: the 6% statutory ceiling (50 U.S.C. § 3937). CashNetUSA and NetCredit (Enova) publishes no lower rate, so 6% is your guaranteed floor. A revolving balance that moved over the period will differ. It sizes the claim; it is not an amortization schedule and not legal advice.
Open the full calculator with these numbers | Generate the letter to CashNetUSA and NetCredit (Enova)
Write the letter to CashNetUSA and NetCredit (Enova)
Written notice is what starts the clock. Fill these in and the letter below is yours to copy, print, and send with a copy of your orders.
Where to send it: NetCredit: Message Center in your account CashNetUSA and NetCredit (Enova) states it takes Not stated.
Nothing you type here leaves your browser. The letter is built on this device.
CashNetUSA answers the military question directly in its FAQ: if a debt was incurred by you, or by you and your spouse jointly, before active duty, “the servicemember is entitled to have the interest rate on the debt reduced to 6% during the period of active duty service.” It then routes you past the regular phone queue: active duty servicemembers, and anyone unsure whether the SCRA applies, should “contact our compliance department at escalations@cashnetusa.com.” Read November 2, 2026.
NetCredit, the installment and line-of-credit brand that Enova lists next to CashNetUSA on its own site, gives the same law a shorter answer and sends you to its customer support team at (877) 392-2014. Neither brand prints a deadline, a form, or a response time.
What the cap is worth at these prices
These are some of the most expensive loans a servicemember can carry, which makes the 6% cap worth more here than almost anywhere. CashNetUSA’s Delaware rates page (last updated December 9, 2025, read November 2, 2026) prices its line of credit at a 229% to 299% APR, with a transaction fee of 15% of every draw. Its own worked example: draw $600 from a $1,000 line, make only the minimum bi-weekly payment, and over 12 payments (six months) at 299% you pay $719.50 in fees and interest.
If that line and that draw predate your service, the statute holds the whole cost to 6% a year. “Interest” in § 3937(d)(1) includes “service charges, renewal charges, fees, or any other charges (except bona fide insurance),” so the 15% draw fee counts. Twelve bi-weekly payments on $600 at 6% a year come to about $9 of interest in total. Everything above that is forgiven, not deferred (§ 3937(a)(2)). Rates vary by state, and CashNetUSA notes it is not the lender in every state, so check your own state’s rates page and your contract.
| CashNetUSA Delaware line of credit (read Nov 2, 2026) | Contract terms | Pre-service draw, SCRA cap |
|---|---|---|
| APR | 229% to 299% | No more than 6% a year |
| Draw fee | 15% of the amount drawn | Counts as interest under § 3937(d)(1) |
| Example: $600 draw, 12 bi-weekly payments | $719.50 fees and interest | About $9 |
The two brands side by side
| Item | CashNetUSA FAQ | NetCredit FAQ |
|---|---|---|
| States the 6% figure | Yes, for debt from before active duty | No, links out for more SCRA information |
| Where to send a request | escalations@cashnetusa.com (compliance) | Customer Support Team, (877) 392-2014 |
| General phone | 888.801.9075, seven days a week | (877) 392-2014 |
| Deadline or response time | Not stated | Not stated |
| MLA borrowers | Not addressed in the FAQ | Lines of credit not offered to covered borrowers |
NetCredit says its loans and lines are offered by a member of the NetCredit family of companies or by a lending partner bank, Quill Bank or Republic Bank and Trust Company, depending on the state, and that all open accounts are serviced by NetCredit. File with NetCredit regardless of which bank’s name is on the contract.
Filing your request
Get the 6% cap on a CashNetUSA or NetCredit account
- List every account and draw that predates your active-duty start date. A line of credit opened before service can still carry draws taken during service, and those later draws are new debt; the revolving credit draws guide explains the split.
- Get your orders showing the start date, or a commanding officer letter on letterhead. Add a DMDC status certificate if you have one.
- Write a request asking for the 6% cap on all interest and fees from your start date, citing 50 U.S.C. § 3937. The letter generator drafts it.
- CashNetUSA: email the letter and orders to escalations@cashnetusa.com. NetCredit: call (877) 392-2014, then send the same packet through the Message Center in your account so a written copy exists.
- Ask for the applied rate, the effective date, and the recalculated payment in writing. Neither brand publishes a timeline, so follow up after one billing cycle.
- If you already paid charges above 6% during service, ask for them back; the refund calculator sizes the claim.
Where borrowers lose money here
Assuming the cap covers a loan taken out on active duty. It does not. A CashNetUSA or NetCredit loan opened during service is Military Lending Act territory, where the ceiling is a 36% APR (10 U.S.C. § 987(b)). NetCredit’s FAQ says it does not offer lines of credit to applicants listed as covered borrowers in the MLA database. If a lender extended credit above 36% to you while you were covered, read how the MAPR is counted and who counts as a covered borrower.
Rolling the balance instead of capping it. A refinance or a new loan taken to pay off an old one during service is new debt, and it loses the cap the old balance had. Cap the pre-service balance first. The payday and title loan guide and the exit plan for high-cost loans cover the next moves.
Missing the 180-day window. Written notice and orders are due no later than 180 days after you leave service (§ 3937(b)(1)), and once delivered they reach back to the day you were called up (§ 3937(b)(2)). After the window closes, the overcharge stays with the lender.
For other online lenders, compare Avant, OneMain, and the full lender directory.
The law behind this: 50 U.S.C. § 3937
Maximum rate of interest on debts incurred before military service: read the statute , or read § 3937 in plain English, with its enforcement record .
Do the next thing
- Estimate the refund you are owed Months above 6% on a pre-service balance, as money.
- Generate the rate-cap letter Cites § 3937, asks for every pre-service account.
- What servicemembers report about your lender 349 companies, money-back rates, from the CFPB.
- Compare 22 banks on the scorecard Fees, early pay and SCRA rate, from their own pages.
Frequently asked questions
Does CashNetUSA give SCRA benefits?
Yes. CashNetUSA's FAQ, read November 2, 2026, says that if a debt was incurred by the servicemember, or jointly with a spouse, before active duty, the servicemember is entitled to have the interest rate reduced to 6% during the period of active duty service. It directs active duty servicemembers, and anyone unsure whether the SCRA applies to a loan, to its compliance department at escalations@cashnetusa.com.
How do I ask NetCredit for the SCRA rate cap?
NetCredit's FAQ says that if you are an active duty servicemember, or have questions about whether the SCRA applies to your personal loan or line of credit, you should contact its Customer Support Team. Its contact page lists (877) 392-2014 (read November 2, 2026). NetCredit publishes no SCRA email, form, or rate, so call, then send a written request with your orders through the Message Center in your account so the notice is on record.
Does the 15% CashNetUSA draw fee count toward the 6% cap?
Under the statute it should. 50 U.S.C. § 3937(d)(1) defines interest to include service charges, fees, and any other charges except bona fide insurance, so a transaction fee on a pre-service draw counts toward the 6% ceiling. CashNetUSA's FAQ speaks only of the interest rate. Ask its compliance team in writing to apply the cap to all charges on pre-service balances.
Can I take out a CashNetUSA or NetCredit loan while on active duty?
The SCRA cap would not apply to it, because § 3937 covers only debt from before service. The Military Lending Act would, and it caps covered credit at a 36% annual percentage rate under 10 U.S.C. § 987(b). NetCredit's FAQ states its lines of credit are currently not available to applicants listed as covered borrowers in the MLA database (read November 2, 2026).
How long do I have to request the cap?
Neither CashNetUSA nor NetCredit prints a deadline. The statute does: written notice and a copy of your orders no later than 180 days after release from military service, under 50 U.S.C. § 3937(b)(1). Once the lender has them, the cap applies from the date you were called to service, so earlier charges during service can be recovered.
Tools for this topic
- SCRA refund calculator What a lender owes back for charging over 6%.
- Savings calculator What the 6% cap saves you per month and per year.
- Letter generator A rate-cap or lease letter that cites the statute.
Sources
- FAQs: I am a military servicemember and was called to active duty, am I entitled to any relief? (CashNetUSA)
- Rates and Terms: Delaware (CashNetUSA)
- Contact Us (CashNetUSA)
- FAQ: SCRA and Military Lending Act answers (NetCredit)
- Contact Us (NetCredit)
- Enova: brands (Enova International)
-
50 U.S.C. § 3937: Maximum rate of interest on debts incurred before military service (LII, Cornell Law School) -
10 U.S.C. § 987: Terms of consumer credit extended to members and dependents (LII, Cornell Law School)
Heads up: SCRA Saver publishes general information, not legal or financial advice. Laws change and every situation differs. Confirm details with your installation legal assistance office (free for service members) or a licensed professional.